The Commune Chief and I – Part 1

In my time living in the provinces, I have had some interesting interactions with the authorities. Nothing bad don’t worry…in fact me in the Commune Chief are tight!

The first time I met the Commune Chief was actually in my living room…

It was the first week that Ben was in my town and he had been in the country for only 3 days. It was his birthday and I had just moved into my new house. Just before I was leaving from work the day before, my supervisor informed me that we HAD to have a party for his birthday and that we should definitely have it at my house so that it would be for my house-warming as well. What?!? A party. At my house? I had just moved in and Ben had just arrived in town and now you expect me to host a party?? I did my best to suggest the more appropriate, well-furbished ‘party/meeting room’ we had at work…but no he was not budging. The party would be tomorrow night at my house.

That night I cleaned up my house the best I could. In the morning I ran around with my colleagues buying all the necessary items that I clearly did not have as I had just moved in and was WELL underprepared. So we bought – cups, bowls, forks, spoons, a large sitting mat, washing bowls and other cleaning material. Additionally, we had to do all the shopping for food and of course the beer. We went to 4 different restaurants (for variety of course) and had them prepare the food to be collected later in the afternoon.

The party was to start at 4pm. By 3pm my house was filled with my colleagues taking over, trying to ‘clean-up’. Up went the LCD screen and large surround-sound speakers; down came my mosquito net and blankets and pillows from my bed. I should explain here that my house consists of 2 rooms – the kitchen/wardrobe and the living room/bedroom. So essentially the party was in my bedroom. Apparently the mosquito net and pillows were not appropriate for the event.  I had no choice – it was down in an instant. The bed remaining was okay.

At 3:30pm one of my collegues takes me by the hand to go ‘invite the neighbours’. Excuse me?!? How big is this party?? So there I went with my colleague knocking on all my neighbours doors inviting me to the party. I must admit it was a great opportunity to meet everyone on my street (including, dare I say it, all the loud, troublesome kids that scream every afternoon playing games in MY front yard. I guess they are a bit cute.)

AND THEN….I am told that the Commune Chief is coming. The Commune Chief! This guy runs this town and he’s coming to MY party!

And so by 4pm, I had about 30 people in my bedroom, sitting around a large mat, eating an array of delicious Cambodian food (that all my wonderful colleagues took over and had prepared) and drinking copious amounts of Angkor beer. One of my neighbours, who I had just met, chipped in and provided numerous utensils that I did not have – so nice!

Commune Chief

I had to quickly teach Ben how to formally address people and a couple of cultural tips. He was a quick learner but the whole ordeal was quite overwhelming for him I think – it was for me who had already been there for 3 months so I really don’t blame him!

I had to do an impromptu speech to thank everyone, which I decided to do in Khmer and judging by peoples reactions I don’t think I did too badly.

As the night went on and the beer was flowing – the karaoke began. The music was pumping from the loud speakers (possibly could be heard in Phnom Penh – 3 hours away) and the microphone was passed around. Everyone really got into it! And they all seem to have amazing voices! The Commune Chief, and his clerk who also joined the party (the more the merrier I gathered was the theme of the night) also gave it a good shot.

They kept asking me to sing but I was a little hesitant. The English music choices consisted of some 60s ballads such as Frank Sinatra, to 90s pop – such as Britney Spears ‘Lucky’ and ‘Stronger’. I finally guessed onto the fact that perhaps it would be polite of me..as the host…to pick up the mic. UH OH! My skills from choir in primary school were lost a very long time ago..and anyone who has had ‘the pleasure’ of listening to me sing…will know that i’m no Australian Idol contender. I was not given a choice of song and what did they choose?…

Bruno Mars’ ‘The Lazy Song’

Better known for the hit lyrics of: “Today I don’t feel like doing anything…I just wanna lay in my bed”

I rocked that living room like it was no-ones business. I forced myself through it. BUT I did it…and had the floor cheering and clapping like it was a hinley street d-floor. I even got the Commune Chief whipping out some moves!

The night ended with a big birthday cake they had prepared for Ben and everyone joining in singing Happy Birthday (the one English song that all Cambodians know the lyrics to).

Everyone left at 9 and we went straight to the balcony to sit and process what had just happened.

This built the foundations of my friendship with the Commune Chief – singing along to Bruno Mars in my living room.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.